A Violet Shaded Family

Family are the people who you choose to be around when there is no one else you’d rather talk to. They’re your Husband, your dog, your cat, the friend you made by happy circumstance & kept in touch with for years. They are the people you can rely on. The people you can go to when the most strife strikes. Family are those that are there to bail you out of lock up, to hand you water when you’re drunk or hung over, the people who cling to you at the worst moments and at the best.
 
I don’t have to ask myself who my family are. They are everything to me and even if I don’t see them for extended periods of time because we all lead busy lives I know that they will be there when I need them and vice versa no matter what. We can pick up where we left off and that’s that. They bring smiles to my face like no one else can.
 
I am not referring to that ‘family’ that you only see at weddings, funerals and Xmas. They are, of course, important in your life. They are essential to you and your humanity. ‘Family’ should not be a term only applied to those linked to you by blood. It should be a term linked with love. Linked with blood, sweat, tears, laughter. There are so many parts and petals that make up my families and I am pleased to know every one of them; from the seeds to the flowers.  None of us can do this alone, none of us.

I love my families… All of them.

Let me know what you think...

