Dirty Creature

Split Enz concert tonight at the Entertainment Centre in Adelaide. Interesting evening.
 
I of course lost the tickets – why does that surprise me? But we made it in any way.

** Panic **

I was distracted by you all night, sitting so close. I loved the concert, the music, that distance closing between us. I have felt so far from you that I am sure my frustration showed.
 
We agreed that the average age there was almost certainly late 30’s – interesting as I knew Chesty was sitting with J way across the sea of people both of them way beyond my meagre 26.
 
They played “Dirty Creature” – I was looking forward to that though of course I’d not told you. Not sure you noticed me singing it… listening to it? There is so much I don’t tell you that I want to.

Dirty Creature come my way from the bottom of a big black lake
Shuffles up to my window making sure I’m awake
S’probably gonna pick my brain
Got me in a vice-like grip
He said one slip, your dead. Ha.
 
Dirty Creature of habit, little horror here to stay
Anyone in his right mind would tell it to go away
But the river of dread runs deep, full of unspeakable things
The creature don’t mess around
I don’t wanna mess with him
 
I don’t wanna sail, I don’t wanna sail
I don’t wanna, I don’t wanna sail tonight
Dirty Creature’s got me at a disadvantage from the inside.
 
Tentacles on the brain keep me from falling asleep
I’m rooted to the spot, the beast don’t know when to stop
Sneaking up from behind, Binds & gags my wits
Dirty Creature got my head exactly where he wants it
 
I don’t wanna sail, I don’t wanna sail,
I don’t wanna, I don’t wanna sail tonight,
Taniwha is waiting for me just below the surface so bright
Even as we speak the Dirty Creature springs a nasty surprise.
 
Dirty Creature knows my type found it in a magazine
He’s seen the look of fear before splattered all over the screen
The animal magnet thug draws me out of myself
I need a dragon-slayer who can save me from myself
 
I don’t wanna sail, I don’t wanna sail,
I don’t wanna set sail for the middle of nowhere tonight
Dirty Creature’s got me at a disadvantage from the inside
I don’t wanna sail upon the waters of invention tonight

You held my hand as we walked through the crowd, I was cold, but warm being so close to you. You ‘ran into’ a friend, her name escapes me. I do not know what, or who, overcame be but I wanted to run. I wanted to take you in my hands & run you through my fingers, far from there. Jealousy perhaps, she was of course, breathtaking. I have never clearly understood why you would be interested in me at all being 12 years my senior & not to mention surrounded by beautiful women? What can I say after all, we are apparently “just friends…” Women gather themselves around you – I am no different to them in this regard & cannot put my finger on it myself. You have this most stunning aura, & a laughter from deep within that seems so addictively honest & sincere. I have my moments still believing that you simply cannot be real.
 
The crowd went mad before the first encore – you included – seeing so many sides of you that I did not know where to look & yet could not take my eyes off of you. The spoon solo made you laugh & how I love to hear you laugh; that innocent Meta that I rarely see. Your shade of Jade so often is your front fence.
 
I did not want to leave you at all. You seemed to want to leave me though so I let it happen. I will never know why.

“And so, that’s how it goes. Never the first, always the last to know”
~~ Tim Finn

Split Enz Concert

Let me know what you think...

